Motor Vehicles

The Treasurer’s office titles and licenses all new and used motor vehicles, motorcycles, trailers, snowmobiles, and boats. Our office also records and releases liens placed on vehicles.

Registration

Registration on commercial, non-commercial vehicles and trailers, motorcycles, snowmobiles, and boats are done on a staggered licensing system based on the first letter of the owner’s last name, or in the case of a business, on the beginning letter of the business name. Renewal months are as follows:

  • A, B - January
  • C, D, E - February
  • F, G, J - March
  • H, I, O - May
  • K, L - June
  • M, N - July
  • P, Q, R- August
  • S - September
  • T through Z - November

Registration Methods

There are now 4 ways to renew your registrations.

In Person

In person, you will need to bring into the Treasurer's office one of the following:                

  1. Vehicle registration renewal card along with a photo ID. You will receive this card in the mail approximately 60 to 90 days prior to your vehicles’ expiration date. Vehicle registration renewal cards are sent out as a courtesy from the Division of Motor Vehicles in Pierre.
  2. Your title or copy of your title along with a photo ID.
  3. Your current registration, along with a photo ID, if you are leasing the vehicle and do not have a copy of your title.

 By Mail

By mail, to the Treasurer's office:

  1. Verify vehicles on the registration renewal postcard. Line through any you do not own or do not want to renew.
  2. Include in your payment the appropriate postage fee as shown on the card. 
  3. Include your South Dakota Driver License or ID number.
  4. Allow 5 to 10 days for processing.

Online

  1. Log into customer account
  2. You can renew 90 days before the expiration and up to 12 months after the expiration date.
  3. Acceptable forms of payments are electronic check, credit/debit cards (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover only).

Self-Service Terminal (SST)

  1. Regardless of county of residence you can renew 90 days before the expiration and up to 9 months after.
  2. Acceptable forms of payments are electronic check, credit/debit cards (MasterCard, VISA, or Discover only).
  3. Two SSTs are located at the following Sioux Falls locations:
    • Get-n-Go
      5400 E Arrowhead Parkway
      Sioux Falls, SD 57110
    • Hy-Vee
      49th and Louise
      Sioux Falls, SD 57106

SST's are available 24/7.

Fees & Penalties

South Dakota residents have 45 days from the date of purchase of a new or used motor vehicle to transfer the title into their name. A penalty of $1 per week up to 26 weeks will be assessed for late transfers. The penalty for a transfer after 26 weeks is $50. Interest on the 4% excise tax will also be assessed on any title transfers done after 45 days. For each month or part thereof for which the tax payment is late, a rate of 1.25% or $5, whichever is greater, for the first month, and 1.25% per month thereafter on any application made after 45 days from the date the vehicle is purchased. A one-time penalty equal to 10% of the tax or $10, whichever is greater, is automatically applied against any application made after 60 days from the purchase date.

Taxes

A 4% excise tax is imposed on most motor vehicle transactions and 3% on watercraft transactions unless exempt. The tax is based on the purchase price of the motor vehicle listed on the bill of sale, purchase order, or sales contract. All vehicles 10 model years or newer are taxed, regardless of the purchase price. Vehicles which are 11 or more model years old, may be exempt from the 4% excise tax if the bill of sale indicates a price of $2,500 or less. Credit is given for trade-ins.

Payment Methods

Payment for motor vehicle transactions can be by:

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Discover
  • MasterCard
  • Money order
  • PIN Debit (if paying in person)
  • VISA

There is a consumer convenience fee charged to the cardholder to use your credit/debit card for payment by a third party company. Please contact the Lincoln County Treasurer's Office for more information at 605-764-5701.