Weed Department

Weed & Pest Program

The goal of the Lincoln County Weed & Pest Program is to control declared noxious weeds in the county road right-of-way in effort to keep weeds from propagating and spreading onto adjacent lands. Weed spraying begins towards the end of spring and concludes in the fall.

Lincoln County residents are encouraged to control declared noxious weeds on their land, and report known infestations on adjacent land. Infestations should be reported to Weed & Pest Foreman, who will investigate the complaint and enforce South Dakota Weed Control laws pursuant to SDCL 38-22.

The Lincoln County Weed & Pest program is overseen by the Lincoln County Weed & Pest Board.

Weed Control Guides

The SDSU Extension Office publishes guides listing the recommended chemical application rates for crops, pasture, and range. Landowners are may also contact the Lincoln County Weed & Pest Foreman or a county agricultural agent (i.e., local elevator, greenhouse, local agronomist, chemical sellers, private applicators, Farm Services Agency, SDSU, and etc.) for further assistance.

Declared Noxious Weeds

Lincoln County

  1. Musk Thistle (Carduus nutans) 
  2. Plumeless Thistle (Carduus acanthoides) 
  3. Spotted knapweed (Centaurea maculosa


  1. Absinth wormwood (Artemisia absinthium)
  2. Leafy spurge (Euphorbia esula)
  3. Canada thistle (Cirsium arvense)
  4. Perennial sow thistle (Sonchus arvensis)
  5. Hoary cress (Cardaria draba)
  6. Purple loosestrife (Lythrum salicaria)
  7. Salt cedar (Tamarix aphylla, T. chinensis, T. gallica, T. parviflora and T. ramosissima)

Declared Pests

  1. Gypsy moth (Lymantria dispar)